PDP wins Akwa Ibom rerun


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the Akwa Ibom Northwest Senatorial rerun, Essien Udim Federal Constituency and the Essien Udim House of Assembly supplementary election.

Prof. Robert Dode of the University of Uyo, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer for the Akwa Ibom Northwest announced on Sunday that Mr Christopher Ekpenyong of the PDP won the senatorial re-run election.

He said that Mr Ekpenyong polled 134, 717 votes while Sen. Godswill Akpabio of the APC, who had earlier announced his withdrawal, polled 83, 820 votes.

AUTHENTIC Also Posted: PDP floors APC in Kano Rerun

Also INEC Returning Officer for the Essien Udim Federal Constituency election, Prof. Idara Akpabio of the University of Uyo, declared Mr Nsikak Ekong of the PDP as winner having polled 45, 366 votes.

He said Mr Emmanuel Akpan of the APC scored 22, 757 votes to place second. In the House of Assembly supplementary election, the returning officer, Prof. Victor Ebong of the University of Uyo, declared Esse Umoh of PDP winner having polled 18, 999 votes to defeat Mr Nse Ntuen of the APC who scored 7,108.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the Appeal Court had directed INEC to conduct re-run election into Akwa Ibom Northwest Senatorial District, Essien Udim Federal Constituency and supplementary election into Essien Udim State Constituency.


The state APC Chairman, Mr Ini Okopido, on Jan. 24 announced the withdrawal of the party from the re-run election.

Okopido alleged that Mr Mike Igini, the state INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner had shown unprecedented bias against APC.


Thanks for Reading

Enjoyed this post? Share it with your networks.

Authentic News Giant Receive Latest Information Immediately they Happen
Allow Notifications