INEC deregisters 74 political parties, give reasons

INEC: How Mahmood Yakubu defeated 3 power blocs in APC with 3bn to Secure Reappointment

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday deregistered 74 political parties in Nigeria.


This was disclosed on Thursday by INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu at a news conference in Abuja.

Yakubu disclosed that the decision was taken by the commission in line with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as well as the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).


The political parties were deregistered because of their failure to meet various criteria stipulated by the constitution during the elections, ” Yakubu said

Nigeria in total has 92 political parties registered.

With the new move by INEC, Nigeria now officially has 18 registered political parties.


Here is the full list of the 18 political parties that scaled the deregistration process:

Accord  (A)

Action Alliance  (AA)

African Action Congress (AAC)

African Democratic Congress (ADC)

Action Democratic Party (ADP)

All Progressives Congress (APC)

All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

Allied People’s Movement (APM)

Action People’s Party (APP)

Boot Party (BP)

Labour Party (LP)

New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP)

National Rescue Movement (NRM)

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)

Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)

Social Democratic Party (SDP)

Young Progressive Party (YPP)

Zenith Labour Party (ZLP)



Thanks for Reading

Enjoyed this post? Share it with your networks.