Edo Election: Obaseki Again Wins Ize-Iyamu For the Second Time


The Incumbent Governor of Edo State, Godwin Obaseki has won  Osagie Ize-Iyamu in the 2020 Edo state Governorship Election.

This is the second time Obaseki will be defeating Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

With A wide margin of  84,336 the Obaseki won the Election.

Governor Obaseki was returned elected after polling the highest number of votes in the keenly-contested poll conducted on Saturday.

INEC Returning Officer for the poll declared the governor as the winner on Sunday at the office of the electoral umpire in Benin City, which doubled as the final collation centre.

The governor secured 307,955 of the total votes, 84,336 more votes than his closest rival Ize-Iyamu, who got 223, 619 votes.

A total of 14 political parties fielded candidates to jostle for the office of the governor in the state.

It is the first governorship poll to be conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) since the outbreak of coronavirus (COVID-19) in the country.

While it held in some places in line with the COVID-19 protocols of the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), the compliance level was very low in other polling areas.

The announcement by the returning officer follows the collation of the results from all the 18 Local Government Areas of Edo where the election was conducted.

Governor Obaseki’s victory comes on the back of a tensed and heated electioneering process that saw him dump the APC after being disqualified from the primaries, join the PDP and overcome stiff opposition and criticism by members of his former party, including former ally and his predecessor Adams Oshiomhole.

It was a dramatic process that saw Obaseki run a governorship race against Ize-Iyamu for a second time in four years.

Both men faced each other in 2016, albeit with Obasek flying the flag of the APC and Ize-Iyamu flying that of the PDP.

A political rift between the governor and Oshiomhole which spiraled beyond the state to national politics, saw both men switch parties and square up against each other on platforms they once criticised.

The campaign, characterised by drama and controversy that did not spare the State House of Assembly, was tempered by the intervention of the Oba of Benin to calm fears that the poll could turn violence heightened.

A peace accord was also signed by all the candidates days before the poll as stakeholders made concerted efforts to ensure a successful poll.

Preliminary reports from some electoral observers have held that it was mostly peaceful and largely free and fair.

Godwin Obaseki/PDP- 307,955 Votes

Osagie Ize – Iyamu/APC – 223,619 Votes

Valid Votes 537,407, Rejected Votes 12835,  Total Vote Cast 550,242

AUTHENTIC ALSO POSTED: Obaseki Beats Ize-Iyamu in his LG

Official results of the Edo state governorship election

Igueben LG (as announced by INEC)

APC – 5199
PDP – 7870

Esan North-East (as announced by INEC)

APC – 6,556
PDP – 13,579

Esan Central (as announced by INEC)

APC – 6,719
PDP – 10,694

Esan Central (as corrected by the INEC officer)

APC 6,719
PDP 10,794

Ikpoba Okha (as announced by INEC)

APC – 18,218
PDP – 41,030

Uhunmwonde (as announced by INEC)

APC – 5,972
PDP – 10,022

Egor (as announced by INEC)

APC – 10,202
PDP – 27,621

Owan East (as announced by INEC)

APC – 19,295
PDP – 14,762

Owan West (as announced by INEC)

APC – 11,193
PDP – 11,485

Ovia North-East (as announced by INEC)

APC – 9,907
PDP – 16,987

10 Etsako West (as announced by INEC)

APC – 26,140
PDP – 17,959

11 Esan South-East (as announced by INEC)

APC – 9,237
PDP – 10,563

12 Oredo (as announced by INEC)

APC – 18,365
PDP – 43,498

13 Esan West (as announced by INEC)

APC – 7,189
PDP – 17,434

14 Akoko Edo (as announced by INEC)

APC 22,963
PDP 20,101

15 Etsako East (as announced by INEC)

APC :17,011
PDP: 10,668

16 Etsako Central (as announced by INEC)

APC – 8,359
PDP – 7,478

17 Orhionmwon (as announced by INEC)

APC – 10,458
PDP – 13,445

18 Ovia South-West (as announced by INEC)

APC – 10,636
PDP – 12,659

Final Results (Official)

Obaseki – 307,955

Ize-Iyamu – 223,619

Votes Across Local Government Areas in Edo State.

AKOKO EDO 22,963 20,101
ESAN SOUTH EAST 9,237 10,565
IGUEBEN 5,199 7,870
ESAN WEST 7,189 17,434
EGOR 10,202 27,621
ETSAKO CENTRAL 8,359 7,478
OWAN WEST 11,193 11,485
ORHIONMWON 10,458 13,445
IKPOBA/OKHA 18,218 41,030
OWAN EAST 19,295 14,762
UHUNMWODE 5,972 10,022
ETSAKO WEST 26,140 17,959
ESAN CENTRAL 6,719 10,694
OVIA NORTH EAST 9,907 16,987
ESAN NORTH EAST 6,559 13,579
OREDO 18,365 43,498
ETSAKO EAST 17,011 10,668
OVIA SOUTH WEST 10,636 12,659
Total 223,619 307,955

Thanks for Reading

Enjoyed this post? Share it with your networks.