Appeal Court Gets Eighteen New Justices (Names, Pictures)

Appeal Court Gets Eighteen New Justices (Names, Pictures)

Chief Justice of Nigeria, Tanko Muhammad has sworn-in 18 new justices for Court of Appeal.

The oath taking ceremony held at the Supreme Court Complex in Abuja, the nation’s capital.


It can be recalled that the National Judicial Council, under the Chairmanship of Honourable Dr. Justice I. T. Muhammad CFR, at its 94th Meeting held on 17 to 18 March, 2021, considered the list of candidates presented by its Interview Committee and resolved to recommend to President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR, amongst others, the following Justices for appointment as Justices of the Federal Court of Appeal.

i) Hon. Justice Bature Isah Gafai
ii) Hon. Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo
iii) Hon. Justice Waziri Abdul-Azeez
iv) Hon. Justice Yusuf Alhaji Bashir
v) Hon. Justice Usman A. Musale
vi) Hon. Justice Jauro Ibrahim Wakili
vii) Hon. Justice Abba Bello Mohammed
viii) Hon. Grand Kadi Mohammed Danjuma
ix) Hon. Justice Danlami Zama Senchi
x) Hon. Justice Mohammed Lawal Abubakar
xi) Hon. Justice Hassan Muslim Sule
xii) Hon. Justice Amadi Kenneth Ikechukwu
xiii) Hon. Justice Peter Oyinkenimiemi Affen
xiv) Hon. Justice Sybil Onyeji Nwaka Gbagi
xv) Hon. Justice Olasumbo Olanrewaju Goodluck
xvi) Hon. Justice Banjoko Adebukunola Adeoti Ibironke
xvii) Hon. Justice Olabode Abimbola Adegbehingbe
xviii) Hon. Justice Bola Samuel Ademola


President Buhari approved the appointments on April 22, 2021.

Appeal Court Gets Eighteen New Justices (Names, Pictures)
Appeal Court Gets Eighteen New Justices (Names, Pictures)


A Federal High Court sitting in Maitama Abuja, had struck out a case alleging marginalisation of the South-East in the appointment of the said judges.

Presiding judge Inyang Ekwo held on June 25, the incorporated trustees of Alaigbo Development Foundation, which filed the suit, lacked competence to appear before the court (locus standi).


They had alleged that Igbos were shortchanged in the recent appointment with just one slot.

The defendants were the National Judicial Council, Federal Judicial Service Commission, President of the Court of Appeal, Federal Character Commission and the Attorney-General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami.

The swearing-in was earlier scheduled for April 29 but postponed following the Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria (JUSUN) strike.



Thanks for Reading

Enjoyed this post? Share it with your networks.